Minutes of the 70th Annual Business Meeting November 29, 2000 Marriott Hotel, Albany, NY

Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order by President Ira Tyszler at 10:20A.M. Mr. Tyszler asked for a moment of silence in memory of Association Members who died in 2000. Past-President Loretta Bassler was introduced as the Parliamentarian of the meeting.

President Tyszler acknowledged the presence of Past Presidents Dave Clawson, Sam Conte, Eliott Baker, Loretta Bassler, Joe Thompson, Carol Fox, and Patrick Forte in the audience.

Minutes of the 1999 Annual Business Meeting:

Secretary, June Finn reported that the minutes of the 1999 Annual Business Meeting could be found in the Newsletter and Conference Packet. There being no additions or corrections to the minutes, they were approved.

Report of the Auditing Committee:

Gregory Wist, Chair of the Auditing Committee, reported that he, his committee had gone over Barbara Boris' books on November 28, 2000 and found them to be in excellent order.

Report of the Treasurer:

Treasurer Barbara Boris referred members to her report of 1/1/00 through 11/1/00, which was included in the conference packets. The report indicated income of \$62,300.96, expenses of \$48,241.37 and cash assets of \$148,443.50. The Treasurer's report was accepted.

Report of the President:

President Ira Tyszler informed the members that a summary of the minutes of the 2000 Executive Committee meetings and reports of the Vice Presidents can be found in their packets.

Ira thanked President-Elect Betty Cifrodella for undertaking the Albany 2000 Joint Conference

President Tyszler reviewed the accomplishments of the past year: restructuring of several committees and the formation of an Ad-Hoc Committee to examine restructuring of the Diversity Committee, overhauling of the Association Database System and changing the Dues cycle, introduction of a Mentoring Program.

Ira announced that Eliott Baker will Chair, and David Clawson will Vice-Chair the Local Arrangements Committee for the AACRAO 2003 national conference in Washington, DC.

MSACROA 2001 Annual Conference will take place in November in Lancaster, PA.

The MSACROA \$500 Scholarship was awarded to Syracuse University, represented by Irene Nedoshytkea.

Report of the President-Elect:

President-Elect Betty Cifrodella reported that 513 was the latest registration number for this conference. A listing of all attendees is available at the Registration Desk.

Betty acknowledged all the LAC Chairs and Committee members, especially Connie Laughner and Cathy Pace (LAC Co-Chairs) for all their hard work. Betty also thanked all the Exhibitors for their support and the Program Committee for putting such a fine Program together.

Report of the Past President:

Past President Dave Clawson introduced Eliott Baker, Chair of the Ad Hoc Committee for By-Law and Constitutional Revision.

Eliott referred the membership to a copy of the Constitution and By-Laws changes found in the last Newsletter and also found on their tables.

Motion: To accept all proposed Constitution and By-Laws Revisions as printed. (Motion passed)

Although the Proceeding will now be published on the MSACROA Website, we still intend to have a printed and bound copy sent to the archivist and anyone who requests a paper copy.

Dave then introduced the inductees to Honorary Membership.

Loretta Bassler read the citation for Sandra Coleman, Johns Hopkins University.

Ellie Diamond read the citation for Sally Ayrey, Kean University. Ira Tyszler read the citation for George Lynes, Bloomfield College.

As Chair of the Nominations and Elections Committee, Dave Clawson announced the following slate of new officers:

- President-Elect
 - Francene Perry-Brown, Delaware Technical & Community College
- Secretary
 - Cathy Pace, Cornell University
- Vice President for Profession Development Connie Laughner, Slippery Rock University
- Vice President for Admissions & Enrollment Management Josephine Figueras, Passaic County Community College
- Vice President for Information Technology Ninette Gironella, New York University

The membership accepted the slate with no opposition.

Members of N & E Committee elected by popular vote through mail ballots were Bruce Correll, Lehigh University and Herb Curkin, Strayer University. Ryta Mirisciotti, Slippery Rock University will be first alternate.

Joe DiMartile has been asked to fulfill the position of VP for Communications for one year. Pinhas Friedenberg has been asked to fulfill the position of VP for Records and Registration for one year.

Old Business – none

New Business

Alan Sims, St. Francis School of Nursing asked the Executive Board to consider a different time of the year for the Annual Conference. Ira Tyszler acknowledged his request and it will be added to the next meeting agenda.

(Now) Past President Tyszler acknowledged Executive Board members and Committee Chairs, who are completing their terms and bestowed Certificates of Service.

The new 2001 Executive Committee was introduced:

Ira Tyszler, Past President
Betty Cifrodella, President
Francene Perry-Brown, President-Elect
Cathy Pace, Secretary
Barbara Boris, Treasurer
Joe DiMartile, Vice President for Communications
Josephine Figueras, Vice President for Admissions and Enrollment
Services
Connie Laughner, Vice President for Professional Development
Pinhas Friedenberg, Vice President for Registration & Records
Ninette Gironella, Vice President for Information Technology

President Betty Cifrodella presented Ira Tyszler with an engraved gavel in recognition of his service as President of MSACROA. Betty also thanked her mentors and supporters.

Adjournment:

The 70th Annual Business Meeting was adjourned at 11:20am.

Respectfully Submitted, June Finn, Secretary December 5, 2000