72 Annual Conference – Minutes of the Business Meeting

Wednesday, December 4, 2002 – Trump Marina Hotel, Atlantic City, NJ

The meeting was called to order by President Cathy Pace at 9:35 a.m.

Cathy requested a moment of silence for Association members who passed away this year.

Cathy introduced Eliott Baker as the Business Meeting parliamentarian.

The past-presidents of the Association were introduced.

Cathy introduced Association Secretary Peter Falk who asked for a motion to accept the minutes from the 2001 Business Meeting. A motion was made, seconded and passed.

Barbara Boris, Chair of the Auditing Committee was introduced and reported that the committee had reviewed the Association's books and found them in appropriate order.

Treasurer Larry Friedman asked for a motion to accept the Treasurer's Report – the motion was seconded and passed.

President's Report:

Cathy announced that MSACROA made a \$500 donation to the 9/11 charity, Families of Freedom Scholarship Fund. She also announced the winner of the \$500 MSACROA Scholarship was Wilkes University, represented by Jane O'Borski.

Cathy thanked the exhibitors for their participation in this year's conference. She also thanked the Local Arrangements Committee for their hard work.

Cathy introduced Gene Schuster of AACRAO who offered greetings on behalf of AACRAO and gave a briefing on that association's activities. Eliott Baker, LAC Chair for the AACRAO 2003 conference, acknowledged those from the MSACROA region participating in that event. Eliott encouraged participation by all MSACROA-ans at the AACRAO conference.

Ryta Mirisciotti introduced the representative from Covenant House, the annual local charity recipient, who spoke about the work of Covenant House in the Atlantic City area. He thanked the members for their generosity.

Will Corprew presented four constitution and by-law revisions as noted in the conference packet. He also introduced one change from the floor regarding the succession of the position of Past-President. A motion was made to accept the changes; the motion was seconded and passed.

Past-President Betty Cifrodella introduced Francene Perry-Brown as this year's nominee for Honorary Membership. Josephine Figueras read the citation for Francene.

Betty presented the report of the Nominations and Elections Committee. John Papinchak and Gregory Wist were elected to fill the available positions on N and E. Betty presented the slate of candidates for the Executive Committee as follows:

- Vice President for Information Technology: Ninette Gironella
- Vice President for Admissions and Enrollment Management: Jessie Pervall
- Vice President for Professional Development: Karla Leybold-Taylor
- Secretary: Peter Falk
- President-Elect: Josephine Figueras

There being no further nominations, the slate was passed as presented.

There was no new business. There was no old business.

Cathy introduced the 2003 Executive Committee:

Cathy Pace, President (Cornell University) Betty Cifrodella, Past-President (New Jersey Institute of Technology) Josephine Figueras, President-Elect (Passaic County Community College) Peter Falk, Secretary (University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey) Larry Friedman, Treasurer (Neumann College) Jessie Pervall, VP for Admissions and Enrollment Management (Thomas Jefferson University) Joseph DiMartile, VP for Communications (University of Delaware) Ninette Gironella, VP for Information Technology (New York University) Pinhas Friedenberg, VP for Registration and Records Management (Hudson County Community College) Karla Leybold-Taylor, VP for Professional Development (Wells College)

The meeting was adjourned at 10:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted: Peter R. Falk, Secretary Director of Special Projects and University Admissions Coordinator University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey