73rd Annual Conference – Minutes of the Business Meeting

Wednesday, December 3, 2003 – Borgata Hotel, Atlantic City, NJ

The meeting was called to order by President Cathy Pace at 9:25 a.m.

Cathy requested a moment of silence for Association members who passed away this year.

Cathy introduced Eliott Baker as the Business Meeting parliamentarian.

The past-presidents of the Association were introduced.

Cathy introduced Association Secretary Peter Falk who asked for a motion to accept the minutes from the 2002 Business Meeting. A motion was made, seconded and passed.

June Finn was introduced and reported on behalf of Barbara Boris, Chair of the Auditing Committee that the committee had reviewed the Association's books and found them in appropriate order.

Treasurer Larry Friedman asked for a motion to accept the Treasurer's Report – the motion was seconded and passed.

June Finn introduced the representative from Covenant House, the annual local charity recipient, who spoke about the work of Covenant House in the Atlantic City area. He thanked the members for their generosity.

President's Report:

President Cathy Pace announced the winner of the \$500 MSACROA Scholarship was Nassau Community College, represented by Barry Fischler.

She announced that there are 415 registrants at this year's conference – including 75 first-time attendees.

Cathy thanked the exhibitors for their participation in this year's conference. She also thanked the Local Arrangements Committee for their hard work.

Cathy introduced Heather Smith of AACRAO who offered greetings on behalf of AACRAO and gave a briefing on that association's activities.

Carol Gubernat, Vice President for Professional Development, announced the Non-Member Certificate of Appreciation is presented to Edna Ortiz of Passaic County Community College.

Gregory Wist, of the Nominations and Elections Committee, on behalf of Past-President Betty Cifrodella, presented the report of the Nominations and Elections Committee. Michele Dunn and Alan Sims were elected to fill the available positions on N and E. Gregory presented the slate of candidates for the Executive Committee as follows:

- President-Elect: Larry Friedman
- VP for Registration and Records Management, Sonia Saladuchin
- VP for Communications, Joseph DiMartile
- Treasurer, Thomas Mantoni

There being no further nominations, the slate was passed as presented.

Josephine Figueras introduced the 2004 Executive Committee:

- Josephine Figueras, President (Passaic County Community College)
- Cathy Pace, Past-President (Cornell University)
- Larry Friedman, President-Elect (Newman College)
- Peter Falk, Secretary (University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey)
- Thomas Mantoni, Treasurer (St. Francis DeSales)
- Jessie Pervall, VP for Admissions and Enrollment Management (Thomas Jefferson University)
- Joseph DiMartile, VP for Communications (University of Delaware)
- Ninette Gironella, VP for Information Technology (New York University)
- Sonia Saladuchin, VP for Registration and Records Management (Kingsborough Community College)
- Carol Gubernat, VP for Professional Development (Kean University)

Josephine presented Cathy with a gavel extending the Association's appreciation for her valuable service.

There was no new business. There was no old business.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted: Peter R. Falk, Secretary Director of Special Projects and University Admissions Coordinator University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey