## Middle States Association of Collegiate Registrars and Officers of Admission 75th Annual Conference – "Diamond Jubilee" – Minutes of the Business Meeting Wednesday, November 30, 2005 – Loews Hotel, Philadelphia, PA

The meeting was called to order by President Larry Friedman at 1:00 p.m.

Larry introduced the members of the Executive Committee sitting at the dais.

Larry introduced Michele Dunn of County College of Morris (NJ) as the Business Meeting parliamentarian.

The past-presidents of the Association were introduced.

Larry introduced the representative from this year's local charity, Covenant House, to accept a \$500 donation from the Association, as well as gifts of children's clothing.

Larry introduced Association Secretary Peter Falk who asked for a motion to accept the minutes from the 2004 Business Meeting. A motion was made, seconded and passed.

Barbara Boris, Chair of the Auditing Committee, reported that the committee had reviewed the Association's books and found them to be in appropriate order.

Treasurer Thomas Mantoni offered his report and asked for a motion to accept the Treasurer's Report – the motion was seconded and passed.

President Larry Friedman introduced the first-time attendee winner of a complimentary registration for the 2006 conference.

Larry offered the President's report indicating the soundness of the organization in membership and the continued strength and growth of the organization. He thanked the current Executive Committee for their support throughout the year. He introduced Janet Doehlert, the President of MSACROA at the time of our 50<sup>th</sup> anniversary. Larry offered a list of accomplishments during the 2005 year, including our first time co-hosting an opening reception at the annual AACROA meeting, the introduction of levels of corporate sponsorship for the conference, exhibitor sessions, a new New Members luncheon and other positive changes to the conference structure, the introduction of MSACROA-sponsored local conference, and upgrades to the web site.

Past President Josephine Figueras introduced Patrick Forte of the University of Medicine and Dentistry to cite former member Nancy Campbell for Honorary Membership. Larry presented a Certificate of Honorary Membership to Nancy.

Josephine introduced Joseph DiMartile of the University of Delaware to cite former member Lynette Gearhart for Honorary Membership. Larry presented a Certificate of Honorary Membership to Lynette.

Josephine cited former member Wilbert Corprew for Honorary Membership. A Certificate of Honorary Membership was presented to Wil in abstention.

Josephine presented the report of the Nominations and Elections Committee. She introduced N and E members Michele Dunn, Carlos Tonche, Carey Trevison and Alan Sims. Jim Donahue and Judy Coughlin were elected to fill the available positions on N and E. Josephine presented the slate of candidates for the Executive Committee as follows:

Vice President for Registration and Records Management – Alan Sims Treasurer – Terry Thompson President-Elect - Joseph Santivasci

There were no further nominations; the slate was passed as presented.

There being no candidate nominated, Joseph DiMartile was appointed by the Executive Committee, in consultation with the Nominations and Elections Committee, to fill the position of Vice President for Communications for one year.

Larry asked for any old business, there was none.

New business was presented as follows:

Larry introduced Eliott Baker, Chair of the ad hoc Constitution and By-Law Committee. Eliott presented the proposed By-Law change. Eliott presented two by-law changes: that annual dues would be collected in March and that dues not collected by May 1 would terminate a membership. A motion was made to accept the changes; the motion was seconded and passed.

Larry turned over the gavel to the new president, Ninette Gironella.

Ninette presented Larry with a ceremonial gavel extending the Association's appreciation for his valuable service.

Ninette Gironella introduced the 2006 Executive Committee:

Ninette Gironella, President (New York University)

Larry Friedman, Past-President (Newman College)

Joseph Santivasci, President-Elect (West Chester University of PA)

Peter Falk, Secretary (University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey)

Terry Thompson, Treasurer, (Cornell University)

Deborah Bowles, VP for Admissions and Enrollment Management (Rutgers University)

Joseph DiMartile, VP for Communications (University of Delaware)

Tracey Thompson, VP for Information Technology (Cornell University)

Alan Sims, VP for Registration and Records Management (Univ. of the Sciences in Philadelphia) Pinhas Friedenberg, VP for Professional Development (Hudson County Community College)

The meeting was adjourned at 1:55 p.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Peter R. Falk, Secretary Director of Special Projects and University Admissions Coordinator University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey