Middle States Association of Collegiate Registrars and Officers of Admission 77th Annual Conference - Minutes of the Business Meeting Wednesday, November 28, 2007 – Borgata Hotel, Atlantic City NJ

The meeting was called to order by President Joseph Santivasci at 12:15 p.m.

Joe introduced the members of the Executive Committee sitting at the dais.

Joe introduced Eliott Baker of Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania as the Business Meeting parliamentarian.

The past-presidents of the Association were introduced.

Joe introduced the first-time attendee winner of a complimentary registration for the 2008 conference.

Joe asked for a motion to accept the minutes from the 2006 Business Meeting. A motion was made, seconded and passed.

Thomas Mantoni, Chair of the Auditing Committee, reported that the committee had reviewed the Association's books and found them to be in appropriate order.

Treasurer Terry Thompson offered his report and asked for a motion to accept the Treasurer's Report – the motion was seconded and passed.

Joe offered the President's report highlighting MSACROA successes in 2007. He noted that he spent a great deal of time rebuilding committees, and expressed his appreciation to this year's volunteers. Joe stressed, however, that we are "doing more with less" and asked those present to consider their own commitment to professional development and consider an active involvement in the Association. He thanked and recognized the members of the Local Arrangements Committee for making this years conference happen.

President-Elect Deborah Bowles introduced the representative from this year's charity, Covenant House, who accepted cash and material donations from MSACROA members.

Past President Ninette Gironella presented the report of the Nominations and Elections Committee. She introduced N and E members Judith Coughlin, James Donohue, Jeannine Broskey, Chris Knauer, Bernard McGree, and Luke Schulties. June Finn, Felician College and Kathy Frawley, Fredericksburg Community College were elected to fill the available positions on N and E, and Joseph DiMartile, University of Delaware, and Luke Philips, Felician College were introduced as alternates. Ninette presented the slate of candidates for the Executive Committee as follows:

Vice President for Communications – Jeremy Maisto
Vice President for Registration and Records Management – Alan Sims
Treasurer – James Donahue
President-Elect – Chris Knauer

There were no further nominations; the slate was passed as presented.

Ninette opened nominations for the 2008 election. She announced the available positions as President-Elect, Secretary, Vice-President for Admissions and Enrollment Services, Vice-President for Professional Development, Vice-President for Information Technology, and 2 positions on Nominations & Elections Committee

Joe asked for any old business, there was none.

New business was presented as follows:

Joe presented a motion to amend the MSACROA constitution to revise Article IV with regard to election and succession to the Nominations and Elections Committee; this included the establishment of two alternate members, and a method by which members can step down from the committee when nominated for a leadership position. The motion was seconded and passed.

Joe presented a motion, per the MSACROA constitution, to increase association dues as follows: \$10 increase in 2009, and a \$10 increase in 2010. The motion was seconded and passed.

Joe turned over the gavel to the new president, Deborah Bowles.

Deborah presented Joe with a ceremonial gavel extending the Association's appreciation for his valuable service.

Deborah introduced the 2007 Executive Committee:

Deborah Bowles, President (Rutgers University)

Joe Santivasci, Immediate Past-President (Westchester University of Pennsylvania)

Chris Knauer, President-Elect (Ithaca College)

Michele Dunn, Secretary (County College of Morris)

James Donohue, Treasurer, (Sussex County Community College)

Barbara Repasi Heron, VP for Admissions and Enrollment Management (University of Pittsburgh)

Jeremy Maisto, VP for Communications (Lebanon Valley College)

Tracey Thompson, VP for Information Technology (Cornell University)

Alan Sims, VP for Registration and Records Management (Univ. of the Sciences in Philadelphia) Peter Falk, VP for Professional Development (University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey)

The meeting was adjourned at 2:00 p.m.

Recorded by:

Peter R. Falk, Vice President for Professional Development Director of Special Projects and University Admissions Coordinator University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey

On behalf of Secretary Michele Dunn, County College of Morris