Middle States Association of Collegiate Registrars and Officers of Admission 79th Annual Conference – Minutes of the Business Meeting Wednesday, December 2, 2009 – The Loews Hotel, Philadelphia PA

The meeting was called to order by President Deborah Bowles at 12:05 p.m.

Deborah introduced Elliott Baker of Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania as the Business Meeting parliamentarian.

Deborah asked members to complete surveys found at their tables.

The 2009 Executive Committee was introduced.

The past-presidents of the Association were introduced.

The Minutes of the 2008 Business Meeting were presented by Secretary, Michele Dunn. The Business Meeting packets were emailed to all registrants prior to the conference. A limited supply of copies has been provided and is available at the tables. These packets include the Minutes of the 2008 Business Meeting. The minutes were approved as presented.

Larry Friedman, Chair of the Auditing Committee reported that the committee had reviewed the Association's books and found them to be in appropriate order.

Treasurer, James Donohue offered his report and asked for a motion to accept the Treasurer's Report – the motion was seconded and passed.

Deborah offered the President's report highlighting Executive Committee work in 2009. Increased attention has been given to the MSACROA budget. The committee has been cost conscience in its decision making, especially as it related to future conference planning. Deborah asked those present to get involved with the association as we look for ways to increase volunteerism.

Deborah acknowledged Mr. Paul Gamill from the Family Policy and Compliance Office. She then introduced Mr. Leroy Rooker who offered greetings from the AACRAO office in Washington, DC.

Deborah introduced the representative from this year's charity, Project Home, who accepted cash and material donations from MSACROA members.

Past President, Joseph Santivasci presented the report of the Nominations and Elections Committee. He introduced N and E members June Finn, Kathy Frawley, Joseph DiMartile and Sonia Saladuchin. Alan Sims, University of the Sciences in Philadelphia and Terry Thompson, Cornell University were elected to fill the available positions on N and E. Joe thanked the Nominations and Elections Committee for their work this year. Joe presented the slate of candidates for the Executive Committee as follows:

Vice President for Communications – Jeremy Maisto Vice President for Records and Registration – Tom Mantoni

Treasurer – Patti Mathay President-Elect – Michele Dunn

There were no further nominations; the slate was passed as presented.

Joe opened nominations for the 2010 election. He announced the available positions as President-Elect, Secretary, Vice President for Admissions and Enrollment, Vice President of Information Technologies, Vice President for Professional Development and 2 positions on the Nominations and Elections Committee.

Deborah asked for any old business, there was none.

Tracey Thompson, 2010 President presents Immediate Past President, Deborah Bowles with a ceremonial gavel and thanks her for her two terms as President.

Tracey acknowledges and thanks the Program Committee, the Local Arrangement Committee Chairs and Luke Phillips, for his part in the implementation of the new online membership management system, C-VENT.

Michele Dunn, President-Elect announces the theme for the 2010 conference in Hershey, PA, "The Many Layers of Service". The 80th Annual Conference will take place at the Hershey Lodge from November 29th – December 2nd, 2010. An email announcement will follow with a Call for Proposals for conference session topics.

Tracey thanked the 2009 Executive Committee and introduced the 2010 Executive Committee:

Tracey Thompson, President (Cornell University)

Deborah Bowles, Immediate Past-President (Rutgers University)

Michele Dunn, President-Elect (County College of Morris)

Patti Mathay, Treasurer, (University of Pittsburgh)

Peter Falk, VP for Admissions and Enrollment Management (University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey)

Jeremy Maisto, VP for Communications (Lebanon Valley College)

Luke Phillips, VP for Information Technology (Felician College)

Tom Mantoni, VP for Registration and Records Management (DeSalles University)

Wendy Kutchner, VP for Professional Development (Temple University)

According to the MSACROA By-Laws, the Executive Committee, after consultation with the Nominations and Elections Committee will appoint a Secretary to fill the remainder of Michele Dunn's term.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:00 p.m.

Recorded by:

Michele M. Dunn, Secretary Registrar County College of Morris